The Girl With Glass Feet

The Girl With Glass Feet

A Novel

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
7
Rate this:
An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago of St. Hauda's Land. Unusual winged creatures flit around the icy bogland, albino animals hide themselves in the snow-glazed woods, and Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass. Ida is an outsider in these parts, a mainlander who has visited the islands only once before. Yet during that one fateful visit the glass transformation began to take hold, and now she has returned in search of a cure. Midas Crook is a young loner who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart. Love must be paid in precious hours and, as the glass encroaches, time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass' The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.
Publisher: New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2013
ISBN: 9781429979863
1429979860
Branch Call Number: eBOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

pastliam Jan 23, 2017

Absolutely loved this book. I disagree with a lot of the other reviews, the pacing was good. I read it off-and-on throughout a month and a bit, though. I loved the poetic language and I got invested in the characters. They all felt real and dynamic, and realistically flawed. I think the ending was perfect. Sad, of course, as you would expect after how the plot began, but perfect for how it had to be.

l
llwboston
Jan 06, 2015

This book was rather disappointing overall. Shaw's poetic language and descriptions of nature are quite beautiful, but become increasingly repetitive as the book goes along. Far too many reiterations of Ida's glass-infected limbs, the island waterscape and winter. I found the male characters to be rather indistinguishable from one another, and the overall story is quite gloomy.

b_schweig Oct 19, 2013

I completely agree with most of the ratings, and i thought I was the only one who was having such difficulty!! I loved the idea, and the plot but it was slow. I'm sorry to say this was a waste of fantastic concept.

k
kelidei
Aug 26, 2013

Excellent! An intricate and imaginative work of fantasy. The mysteriously surreal British island is a perfect backdrop for the character- and relationship-driven plot. I particularly enjoyed the way every relationship in the story ingeniously reflects and illuminates the others. The writing style is sensual and poetic. Not a fast-paced thriller; this story unfolds at a thoughtful pace that gives you time to appreciate its nuanced beauty.

d
dprodrig
Jan 30, 2013

I love reading and I was very disappointed by the pacing, and the plot of this book. Wish I'd never tried it.

hope1982 Feb 21, 2012

I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while now. Ever since I saw it in the bookstore when it first came out. But I really did not want to pay full price for the hardcover – so I waited. Recently I discovered that they had a copy of this book at my local library. I was so happy.

So what do I think of this book? Man, I do not know where to start. It not good. I read this book and closed the book and I said to myself I’ve never been this confused by reading a book in a long time. I read it and I felt lost. Half the time I had a hard time following what the author was trying to accomplish. One minute story would be flowing nicely and I would be on top of it. Next minute I would be confused because the story line would get all confusing.

Some of the characters and the story around them I did not understand what the author was getting at. For example the flying miniature cows – what’s with them. Were they suppose to symbolise something. Ida and her illness, glass feet and literally turning into glass. That whole part of the story was not well described. Also I felt that Ida was not trying that hard to find the cure for her illness. I felt that she was looking for the cure because she was expected too than anything else. Another thing that seemed unnatural and forced was the relationship between Ida and Midas. I felt that Midas was more a child than an adult. He acted and behaved like a child. It was hard to take him seriously. Who knows maybe I missed the whole point of this book.

Overall this was not a good read for me. I did not enjoy it because half the time I was lost and did not understand if there was some kind of underling message that I was not getting. In a way the author is trying to write , in some parts of the book, the stream of conciseness type of writing style. This style no one does it better than Virginia Woolf. So no this book did not work for me. I was really disappointed with it. I give this book 1/5 STARS.

Algonquin_Lisa Feb 14, 2011

Ida Mclaird's feet are turning to glass at a slow but alarming rate, and she has no idea why, or how to stop it. All she has to go on is a recommendation to see a myterious man named Henry Fuwa, a reclusive biologist whose life is devoted to caring for a species of "moth-winged bulls," which are exactly what they sound like - insect-sized bulls with wings. From Henry she visits another potential healer, Emiliana Stallows, who has reportedly cured another girl with Ida's condition.

In the process of searching for help, Ida meets a young man named Midas Crook, a loner who was born and grew up on the islands of St. Hauda's Land. She falls in love, though he keeps pulling back, to my utter annoyance.

Comparisons to Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Haruki Murakami pepper the professional reviews, but the writing is nowhere near that strong. Then again, few writers can hit those heights. But it is written above middling range, occasionally waxing purple, but usually not. In other words, I enjoyed it, and I can usually find something to pick apart when a writer fails to impress. A bit of over-wrought writing, when used very sparingly, I can handle. And that's the worst I can say about author Ali Shaw.

The plot's addictive, the characters fully developed and absolutely wonderful, and though the overall tone of the story veers toward the morose it isn't unrelentingly so. A very imaginative story well told. Highly recommended, especially if you enjoy stories with a fairy tale flavor.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at BPL

  Loading...

Other Formats

[]
[]
To Top